The Great Penguin Rescue by Dyan de Napoli
The Great Penguin Rescue by Dyan de Napoli
Environment for the Americas

The Great Penguin Rescue by Dyan de Napoli

Regular price $19.00 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Join us by THURSDAY, January 28, 2021 at 5 pm PT, 6 pm MT, 7 pm CT, 8 pm ET

Register HERE

Click here to see a short introduction video from the author.

Book Orders: Purchase your book -   FREE SHIPPING

About the Book: The Great Penguin Rescue is the unforgettable and heartwarming true story of the largest and most successful animal rescue ever undertaken. When a carrier named the MV Treasure sank off the coast of Cape Town, South Africa in June of 2000, the oil that spilled from the ship threatened to kill nearly half of the entire world population of African penguins.

A massive rescue effort was immediately launched, and 120 penguin experts – including the author – flew to Cape Town from around the globe to help manage the care of the 40,000 penguins harmed by the oil spill. 12,500 volunteers who had no prior animal experience also showed up at the rescue centers with nothing more than a fervent desire to help save the oiled birds. Over the 3-month course of the rescue, these dedicated and caring volunteers donated over one-half-million hours of their time and energy to help the penguins in their greatest hour of need.

Hailed as an “exciting nature drama” by the Boston Globe“a real-life eco-thriller with a happy ending” by the New York Post, and “a powerful story that needs to be heard” by The Birder’s LibraryThe Great Penguin Rescue reminds us that one person truly can make a difference; and that when we come together and work as one, we can achieve extraordinary things!