A Pocket Guide to Pigeon Watching: Getting to Know the World's Most Misunderstood Bird - pre order
Environment for the Americas

A Pocket Guide to Pigeon Watching: Getting to Know the World's Most Misunderstood Bird - pre order

Regular price $13.95 $0.00 Unit price per
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Join us online and meet the author! March 17, 2022 at 5pm PT, 6PM mt, 7 pm CT, 8pm ET

Register to the event here: 

https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwsf-6trjssHtVGM-64RugoXcCQMAyHltwT

Part field guide, part history, part ornithology primer, and altogether fun.

Fact: Pigeons are amazing, and until recently, humans adored them. We’ve kept them as pets, held pigeon beauty contests, raced them, used them to carry messages over battlefields, harvested their poop to fertilize our crops—and cooked them in gourmet dishes. Now, with The Pocket Guide to Pigeon Watching, readers can rediscover the wonder. Equal parts illustrated field guide and quirky history, it covers behavior: Why they coo; how they flock; how they preen, kiss, and mate (monogamously); and how they raise their young (on chunky pigeon milk). Anatomy and identification, from Birmingham Roller to the American Giant Runt to the Scandaroon. Birder issues, like what to do if you find a baby pigeon stranded in the park. And our lively shared story together, including all the things we’ve taught them—Ping-Pong, for example. “Rats with wings?” Think again.